Khai Adams and Dimity Payne win 2017 Coopers Classic state titles at Parsons

Victor Harbor's Khai Adams has conquered an all-star field at Parsons Beach to claim victory at the Coopers Classic State Titles, presented by O'Neill and Otis.

The surf coast of the Southern Fleurieu turned on classic autumn surf conditions on Saturday, March 18, with three-foot waves on offer for the state's best surfers in the annual Coopers Classic.

After a first round scare where Adams arrived late and was forced to fight back into the main event from the repecharge round, he unleashed his full repertoire of radical carves and aerial manoeuvres to confidently move through to the final.

In the premier Open Men's final, Adams smashed a series of lethal forehand hits to score an excellent eight points (from a possible 10) and kept his momentum rolling, for a two-wave total of 15.5. Despite the best efforts of Luke Sykora (Yorke Peninsula), Max Longhurst (Victor Harbor) and Alex Rix (Victor Harbor), Adams left his fellow finalists chasing a high score to win before the siren sounded.

"I'm stoked to win," Adams said. “To surf with your mates in a final is always cool. I just got lucky with the waves."

Current junior state champion Dimity Payne (Victor Harbor) showed she has a big future in surfing, taking out the Open Women's division.

Despite a slow start Dimity stamped her authority on the final with a well-surfed 6.33 and finished with an impressive 10.66 total to defeat Imogen Elliot (Seaford), Alexandra Novak (Moana) and Francesca Narni (Goolwa).

"I'm really excited to win the Open Women's Title," Dimity said. "This win gives me confidence for the upcoming competition."

The Coopers Classic also attracted a host of SA's most experienced surfers, who competed in an array of different masters divisions, including the inaugural Over 50 Women's division.

Erika Oemcke (mid coast) dominated the Over 50 Women's final with a two-wave total of 14.34 to convincingly take the title from Cathy Griffen (Victor Harbor) and Kelly Drinkwater (Victor Harbor).

"I was just lucky to find two good waves," said Oemcke. "It's great to see SA leading the way with women's surfing and accommodating the over 50 women. It would be great to see a division for us at nationals, thank you Surfing SA."

Open men: 1 Khai Adams; 2 Luke Sykora; 3 Max Longhurst; 4 Alex Rix.

Open Women: 1 Dimity Payne; 2 Imogen Elliot, 3 Alexandra Novak, 4 Francesca Narni.

Open Kneeboard: 1 Paul Francis; 2 Yanni Carapetis; 3 Patrick Langlands; 4 Stuart Murdock; 5 Simon Coote.

Over 35 Women: 1 Cheryl Peat; 2 Carita Stengeli; 3 Francesca Narni; 4 Louise Kelly; 5 Erika Oemcke.

Over 40 Men: 1 Luke Horlin-Smith; 2 Mark Everett.

Over 45 Men: 1 Gary Haworth; 2 Sean Crowder; 3 Craig Potgieter.

Over 50 Women: 1 Erika Oemcke; 2 Cathy Griffen; 3 Kelly Drinkwater.

Over 50 Men: 1 Craig Adams; 2 James Bryant.

Over 55 Men: 1 Roger Mathews; 2 Alan Bruse; 3 Tim Hoile; 4 James Bryant; 5 Simon Coote.

Over 60 Men: 1 Ray Palmer.