Great Southern Football League held its Junior Mail Medal night on Wednesday, August 30

The Great Southern Football League held its 2017 Junior Mail Medal night on Wednesday, August 30, at Strathalbyn.

Langhorne Creek onballer Matthew Roberts was the Mail Medal winner in the junior colts and Encounter Bay’s Jake Tarca tasted success in the senior colts.

Roberts polled in every game, but two, to poll 40 votes with Strathalbyn’s Isaac Birt runner up on 34 votes.

Roberts lead from start to finish, with Birt making a late and brave charge, but was never really going to reel in Roberts, who continued to poll throughout the count.  

Third was Willunga’s Arlo Draper on 32 votes. Encounter Bay’s Blake Bailey finished fourth on 27 votes, Demon Liam Nye polled 25 votes, McLaren’s Brayden Anderson 23 votes and Yankalilla’s Brodie Niessen polled 20 votes.

Draper also won the goal kicking prize after booting 105 goals for the season. Roberts was second in the goal kicking with 58 goals.

In the senior colts, Tarca polled 27 votes, six votes clear of runner up, Willunga’s Todd Martin. Martin won the goal kicking with 86 goals.

Runner up in the goal kicking was Martin’s team mate Mani Draper on 63 goals, Tarca kicked 62 goals and Langhorne Creek’s Jackson Dalitz booted 52 goals.  

The early leader in the senior colt Mail Medal count was Willunga’s Sam Renney, who finished third on 19 votes.

Others to poll well were Mani Draper from Willunga on 17 votes, Goolwa/Port Elliot’s Scott Kilgallon on 16 votes, McLaren pair Ryan Jeffries and Billy Chahla on 15 votes and Strathablyn big man Ronan Wood on 14 votes.

Other awards presented on the night were Junior Coach of the Year, which was awarded to Willunga Junior Colts coach Steve Jaggard and Encounter Bay won the Pathway Club award presented by South Adelaide.

South Adelaide had a visible presence during the evening with CEO Neill Sharpe and Board member Andrew English in attendance.

South were congratulated on their work in the zone and the performance of its under 18 team, which are playing in the finals. Nearly half the team consists of Great Southern boys and more are in the squad. 

They include Job Colwell (Willunga), Liam Fitt (McLaren) Hayden Sampson (Myponga/Sellicks), Tarik Illingworth (Encounter Bay), Jackson Elmes (Victor Harbor), James Bradford (Encounter Bay), Nathan Kreuger (Victor Harbor) and Aaron Douglas (Willunga). 

Great Southern Football League president Gordon Tonkin also commended the performance of the under 15 and under 17½ association teams, which defeated Southern in June and the work of the Great Southern Football League under 15 Academy. 


Discuss "Medals for Matt and Jake"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.