Victor Harbor footballer Michael Ross wins Great Southern Football League Mail Medal

Victor Harbor footballer Michael Ross capped off a great season winning the 2018 Great Southern Football League A grade Mail Medal on Wednesday night (August 30) at the Hotel Victor.

Ross, who plays onball and rests forward, led from start to finish to poll 32 votes. He won by 10 votes.

On 22 votes were Mount Compass ruckman Peter Hoban and McLaren star Brett Ellis. Myponga/Sellicks’ Matthew Merrett and Rigby Barnes from Encounter Bay polled 16 votes and Willunga’s Sean Beath and Langhorne Creek’s Matt Dominish polled 15.

Ross thanks the Victor Harbor Football Club for the opportunities it has given him and his teammates when accepting the award.

Mount Compass key forward Tom Pinyon won the A grade goal kicking with 87 goals from McLaren’s Jordan Mutton (67) and Strathalbyn’s Marc Elliott (58).   

In the Reserves, Mount Compass’ Rhys Evans won the medal with 27 votes from McLaren pair Joel Chahla with 21 and John Atie on 19, while Myponga/Sellicks’ Nick Hassan polled 13 votes and Victor Harbor’s Ty Corey also polled 13.

Reserves leading goalkicker was McLaren’s Chris Kohnke with 75 goals.

Other highlights from the night were the presentation of the South Adelaide Football Club’s ‘Club of the Year Award’, which was won by McLaren, player life memberships to Strathalbyn’s Mark Tucker, McLaren’s Steve and David Kahl and Mount Compass pair Nick Brokenshire and Craig Merritt and Life Membership to the Southern Districts Zone side to Neil Lang.

A standing ovation was afforded to outgoing Great Southern Football League president Gordon Tonkin, who was awarded Life Membership of the Great Southern Football League. Gordon has been league president for the past 10 years and has served in football administration for 28 years.