Southern Districts women triumph at SA Country Championships

After being named runners-up in last year's inaugural women's SA country championships, Southern Districts has taken home the top honour at the 2019 tournament.

Made up of players from the Great Southern and Southern football leagues, the team travelled to Port Pirie to compete in the round robin competition.

The team was coached by McLaren's Kiefvar Zohar, who also coached the Great Southern representative team, captained by Cove's Jaimee Norup, and vice-captained by Strathalbyn's Tessa Grant.

Great Southern players in the Southern Districts side were Grant (Strathalbyn), Jess Veasey, Layla Rogers and Tahlita Buethke (McLaren), Megan Sherry, Shannen Eglington and Olivia Bendt (Mount Compass), Jaimi Griffen and Zoe de Kievit (Encounter Bay), Ella Radbone, Katrice Turner and Lauren Clifton (Willunga), and Abby Bricknell, Mietta-Magali Allain and Courtney Barry (Victor Harbor).

Their first game on Saturday saw them up against Eyre Peninsula which they won, 2.0 (12) to 7.2 (44).

Soriah Moon kicked three goals and Layla Rogers kicked two, and Lauren Kenny was best on ground with Rogers runner-up.

Game two on Saturday was against Centrals and the Southern women kept their opponents to a single point all game, 2.2 (14) to 0.1 (1).

Katrice Turner and Mietta-Magali Allain kicked the majors for Southern, and Jaimee Norup was the best player.

The two wins meant Southern went into the final on Sunday, which they played against Northern.

With Southern looking like the team to beat all weekend, they went into the game as the favourites and the result was not surprising.

Southern Districts took the win, 6.4 (4) to 1.1 (7) and were named SA country champions for 2019.

Lauren Clifton and Tahlita Buethke both kicked two goals and Rogers and Norup scored singles.

Buethke was best on ground, with Carli Morton, Norup, and Tessa Grant rounding out the best players.

Zohar was named coach of the championships, and seven Southern players featured in the team of the championships: Rogers (forward), Moon and Buethke (half forward), Jaimi Griffen and Kenny (half back), and Norup and Turner (midfield).