Fleurieu towns headline 2020 Ag Town of the year nominations

Seven towns across the Fleurieu Peninsula have been nominated as part of the 2020 South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year Awards - and you can help them win.

Langhorne Creek, McLaren Vale, Myponga, Normanville, Strathalbyn, Victor Harbor and Willunga are all in the running, with voting now open.

This year, 70 country towns from across the state received nominations as part of the awards, which aim to highlight the vital role that agriculture plays in the regional landscape - being the backbone of most regional communities.

The annual awards are now in their second year, and are presented by the Department of Primary Industries and Regions (PIRSA) and Solstice Media.

Last year's winner was Cleve, which is again in the running in 2020.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development and Member for Finniss, David Basham, said this difficult year had shown just how important agriculture was to keep the economy moving.

"Regional communities play a key role in agriculture and this year's award will no doubt unearth stories of resilience, community spirit and determination," Mr Basham said.

The current voting period will determine five finalists, which will be whittled down to an ultimate winner.